ALGER FOCUS EQUITY FUND

ALGER INSTITUTIONAL FUNDS · 5 share classes

Actively managed U.S. equity fund
One fund, 5 share classes:ALGRXALAFXALCFXALZFXALGYX
$6.11B NAV
54 positions · as of 2026-04-30 · filed 2026-06-26

Fund classification

Classified from what the fund holds · as of 2026 Q2

ALGER FOCUS EQUITY FUND is an actively managed U.S. equity fund.

Asset class
Equity
Region
United States
Management
Actively managed
Fund type
Open-end fund
Features
Non-diversified

Fund profile

As filed in the prospectus · 2026 Q1

Alger Focus Equity Fund seeks long-term capital appreciation.

Strategy · summarised

The fund invests at least 80% of assets in equity securities of companies the manager believes exhibit Positive Dynamic Change, either through High Unit Volume Growth or Positive Lifecycle Change such as new regulations, product innovation, or management. The fund typically holds approximately 50 stocks and may concentrate a significant portion of assets in a single sector. As a non-diversified fund, the performance of any one position may have a greater impact on overall fund performance. The fund may also hold privately placed securities and foreign equities, and may temporarily hold up to 15% in cash when attractive investments are unavailable or during market volatility.

Expenses
0.61% 1.74%across 5 share classes
Share classGrossNetAs of
ALGRX0.95%2026 Q1
ALAFX0.99%2026 Q1
ALCFX1.74%2026 Q1
ALZFX0.66%0.63%2025 Q1
ALGYX0.66%0.61%2026 Q1

Net is what a holder pays after the adviser's contractual waiver; gross is before it. A waiver can expire.

Portfolio turnover 134.46% · as of 2026 Q1

Allocation

Asset groups · long / short shown separately, never netted · 2026 Q2

99.66%
of net assets
Stocks98.60%
Cash & short-term1.06%

Sector allocation

The same holdings as Allocation above, grouped by market sector instead of asset type · as of 2026 Q2

100%
of net assets
Information Technology39.6%
International13.0%
Communication Services12.9%
Consumer Discretionary11.5%
7 smaller23.0%

Government, Securitized and Cash are non-corporate buckets; International is foreign holdings we don’t sector-classify, and Other is the residual (held funds, unresolved names).

Latest quarter

What changed since the fund's previous filing

2026Q2 vs 2026Q1: 10 new9 exited

Largest new: Disruptive Technology Solutions LI, LLC Series C, 2026 VDC LP SPV, Anthropic PBC, ASTRAZENECA PLC, NRG, DNTH, NOW, CRWV

Largest exited: AstraZeneca PLC, SPGI, Liberty Media Corp-Liberty For, U, CEG, MLM, VST, WRBY

Return profile

Chart:

Total return as filed — price change plus distributions reinvested · trailing figures to Apr 2026

Share class1-year3-year5-yearVolWorst fall
+61.11%+124.72%+124.38%25.88%-14.32%
+61.07%+123.65%+120.53%25.89%-14.32%
+59.82%+120.47%+119.59%25.87%-14.42%
+61.53%+126.25%+125.92%25.89%-14.27%
+61.61%+126.42%+126.09%25.90%-14.28%

These classes hold the same portfolio, so the 6.50pp spread over 5 years is the cost difference between them — roughly 1.30pp a year — not a difference in what they own.

Cumulative return· May 2023 – Apr 2026

Debt profile

What this fund holds — value-weighted across its bond and securitized long positions · as of 2026-04-30

Avg coupon
Avg maturity
Flagged holdings
Defaulted: not reported
In arrears: not reported
Paid in kind: not reported

Based on what filers reported; a filer that never reported a flag also reads as none.

Risk profile

Interest-rate and credit-spread sensitivity, both in years · as of 2026Q2

Interest-rate duration
0.00 yr
approx. move per 100bp
Credit-spread duration
Not disclosed

Holdings

By % of NAV · equity positions carry filed share counts · every resolvable issuer links to its company page

Issuer%NAVValue
NVIDIA CORPNVDA13.01%$794.76M
AMAZON.COM INCAMZN7.50%$458.27M
MICROSOFT CORPMSFT6.76%$413.16M
ALPHABET INCGOOG6.48%$396.13M
WESTERN DIGITAL CORPWDC5.29%$323.43M
TAIWAN SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING COMPANY LTDTSM5.07%$309.87M
BROADCOM INCAVGO4.84%$295.49M
META PLATFORMS INCMETA4.64%$283.56M
APPLE INCAAPL3.81%$232.82M
NEBIUS GROUP NV3.74%$228.73M
Showing 10 of 54Sign in to see more

Reported price is the fund's own reported value divided by its own reported shares at 2026-04-30 — not a live quote, and not what the fund paid.

Top 10 positions are 61.15% of net assets, top 25 86.54%, across 54 issuers.

See more of this fund's book

More positions with filed share counts, and the quarter-over-quarter change list rather than the largest few — free with an account, no card required.

Sign in free